Pre-departure

The Last 24 Hours

So tomorrow is the big day and I have to say I am on a rollercoaster of emotions. When I woke up in the morning I felt an overwhelming sadness rush over me because I actually had to face all that I was leaving for this journey. I am still very happy and proud that I took this step to study abroad in a place the opposite of my own, but there is so much to process. First of my mood has been up and down all day thinking about how excited and sorrowful I am. I break out into a huge smile thinking about the new memories I’m about to make and a second later I’m ready to cry over my old ones. I’ve said I’m not going at least a hundred and fifty times today. I don’t mean it of course but it’s just something I have to say to console myself.

Now let’s talk about everything I’m dreading. First thing is the flight to Beijing from Colorado. I can barely stand a two hour flight without being completely stressed out so I don’t know how I’m going to get through a total travel time of fourteen hours! Second and probably worst of all is saying goodbye. I hate goodbyes and saying it in an airport is the worst place to say in my opinion. Well other than in a cemetery or hospital.  I am by no means excited to walk down to security and look back at my crying family wishing me well. I’ve been on the receiving end of that goodbye and it was agonizingly painful to say the least. The third and final thing I am dreading is the culture shock. But it’s all part of the experience and I wouldn’t change the opportunity I have been given.

This will by the last entry I make in America for the next few months, let’s have an adventure!

Leave a Reply

