Pre-departure

I’m Going to China!

Hello my friends, let me begin by introducing myself. My name is Ash and I am a 19 year old college student who is about study abroad for the first time.  As the title states I am going to be studying in China, Beijing China. I have been dreaming of going to Asia since I was 12 years old and I have to say I am beyond pleased that I’ve finally made it a reality. This first post is sort of like my pre-departure reflection. The goal of this blog is to record my experience as it occurs.

Here’s some background on myself and my trip. As I said my name is Ash, I’m a sophomore attending the University of Colorado Denver. I will be studying in Beijing China through a program called CU semester in Beijing. I heard about this opportunity when I was checking out my Universities office of international affairs exchange programs. I had researched several programs before deciding that Beijing was the best fit for what I want to accomplish by studying abroad. When I decided this was a good fit I only had to two weeks to apply for for the program, grants, and scholarships. If you are planning on studying abroad please don’t just make a split decision and only give yourself a couple weeks to get your stuff together. It worked for me but it’s not an efficient way to get important things done. Trust and believe that. Anyway back to the standard introductory information about myself and why I decided to study in China. Firstly I think the Chinese culture is beautiful in a way that I can’t even describe, and secondly I being a Ghanaian American wanted to see and experience a culture that is virtually the opposite of my own. And as for my reason behind creating this blog, well I wanted to capture this experience for myself and share it with other students who are interested in what living in China as woman of color is like. I promise this will be the last boring and relatively formally written post I allow on here. If you made it this far, thank you and welcome to the beginning of my adventure!

I hope ya’ll stick with me.

Leave a Reply

